Stand Alone Documents Collection
The initial focus of the History Preservation Project was on the wealth of material from the now defunct Provincetown Heritage Museum. Open in 1975 to showcase Provincetown's rich and varied history, the Heritage Museum doors closed permanently to the public in 2002. When possible, material was organized and assessed by subject, and in some cases by donor, but in some instances a document or photograph defied inclusion in existing collections and yet was an important part of Provincetown's history. The Provincetown record of who served in the Rebellion of 1861, Provincetown's first Resident Directory in 1886, and a burial listing of the Winthrop Street Cemetery – Provincetown's oldest existent cemetery – are but a few of the items housed under the collective Stand Alone title. In time, as review of the as yet unassessed material from the Heritage Museum occurs, these stand alone items may migrate and be incorporated into other collections as appropriate, but in the meantime remain house here in a varied and broad ranging assortment for your browsing pleasure and review.
- A playbill from the season of 1925 of the Wharf Players for early September. Features a wood...Format: TextSubjects: Provincetown (Mass.)--History--20th century, Provincetown Players, Theater--Massachusetts--Provincetown--History--20th Century, and Theaters
- A listing created by Grace Collinson of the fisherman lost at sea from Provincetown from 1879 - 1984Format: TextSubjects: Death, Drowning, Fathers, Fish trade--Massachusetts--Provincetown, Fishermen, Fishing boats--Massachusetts--Provincetown, Provincetown (Mass.)--History--19th century, and Provincetown (Mass.)--History--20th century
- The official logo of the Provincetown Heritage museum designed by Salvatore Del Deo. It was...Format: ArtworkSubjects: Art, Historical museums--Massachusetts--Provincetown, Museums--Massachusetts--Provincetown, Provincetown Heritage Museum, and Clark, Eugene S.